Pages

Wednesday, December 21, 2016

Jane Tries: Innisfree No-Sebum Blur Powder (with Coverage)

Today, I thought I would give you my first impressions on the Innisfree No-Sebum Blur Powder I bought now that I am currently in South Korea. I've heard great things about this and when I went to the Innisfree store near my house, I was deciding between this one and the one that is white and in the green package. The lovely sales associate told me that this gives better coverage whilst the one that is white is just transparent and only helps with the shine. With that in mind, I decided to get this and give it a go.

Recently, I've been using the Rimmel Stay Matte Pressed Powder in Transparent and whilst in the past has been a great drugstore find, I find, as I age, the powder does not give me the flawless finish I had prior.

This loose powder has been pretty good in terms of giving me the coverage I desire. I have a lot of spots and hyper-pigmentation these days and it's been such a bother to cover it all. Whilst this does not completely cover it all, I do like how my pores look and how much less concealer I need to use.

When you first open the package, there is a faint scent of mint which is really quite nice. The puff is also nice and soft. The one thing, however, I find a bit of a bother is the fact that it is really hard to get the powder out of the holes. I ended up just removing the plastic and just using either my damp Beauty Blender and then blend it in with my powder brush.

These "fast fashion" makeup stores, viz. Face Shop, Innis Free, Etude House, etc., are geared for the younger set, but if you are discerning, there are things that are useful for those in the mid 30s and older. The Innisfree No-Sebum Blur Powder is one of that and at USD $8, it really is a good purchase thus far. Will be sure to update after I finish the powder.

If anyone has used this product, or the one without coverage in the green packaging, I would love to hear about your experiences.

xo Jane

Sunday, December 11, 2016

Life in LA: Santa Monica Pier


The Santa Monica Pier is a tourist trap. Loads of people go there who clearly are not from the area. But, it's a tourist trap for a reason.

For me, there are a few things I love about the Pier.

1) The view

Call it what you will, but the view on the Pier is absolutely lovely. Whether it is cloudy, or windy, or sunny, being right above the ocean gives me a sense of peace I find exhilarating. Yes, there are a lot of people, more so in the summer, but I love to people watch there. Today, for example, there was an artist who was filming his music video there. I really admire his ability to not give any care and just perform for the camera. I love watching the kids scream in the carnival rides on the pier and I love the artists who perform on the pier for people to listen. The music, the dancing, et al, really add to the energy that surrounds the pier.






2) The shopping
Third Street Promenade is close by and I really like how there are so many shops that are close to the ocean. I particularly enjoy looking at the window displays of brands like Louis Vuitton with their constantly changing artwork. I also love how they have stand-alone stores like Aesop but they also have stores like Uniqlo and H&M.












3)  Pokemon Go
If you play this seriously addictive AR (alternative reality) game, *this* is the place to go. With constant lure, you will catch loads of water Pokemon which is really nice. I love to take a quick loop and see what Pokemon I catch.

By car, there are public parking lots. The closer to get to the pier, the harder it is to find parking and also, more expensive. There is also a lot of traffic. I like to park a bit further out and then just walk. I justify it as exercise.









Eats
When you're actually *on* the pier, I love eating a Japadog.  Made famous by Psych, the Japanese-inspired hot dog is your best bet when you are on the pier. There is a Coffee Bean on the pier if you're looking for some coffee. There are other sit-down restaurants, like Bubba Gump Shrimp, but I really like Japadog because you can get the hot dog and then eat it whilst people watching. Japadog is a bit expensive (I paid USD $7.75 for one) but I still think it's the best bet for the pier.
Not the best looking but so so good!

If you are on the Promenade, there are loads of restaurants you can try. Many of them, however, are not my cup of tea, as there are a lot of chain restaurants, but you won't be without.









If you do end up going to the Pier, I would love to hear about your experience. And, if you have any recommendations for me, do let me know in the comments and I will try and give it a go.

xo Jane

Wednesday, December 7, 2016

Beauty Review: Shiseido Eye Masks

I will admit I am not the biggest fan of eye masks. I always think they are not worth the money. If I am to buy these masks, I always feel I'd be better off just using an eye cream instead.

These eye masks came in a set from Sephora. Yes, this is from my huge Sephora purchase spree. I used these right before I went to bed and the next day, I really loved how the fine lines around my eyes were diminished.

No eye cream, eye mask, etc, will ever entirely rid the lines around your eyes. And I have learned to accept that my skin isn't as elastic as it once was.

That said, these eye masks do lessen the effects of fine lines and feel absolutely lovely when put on.  Whilst this does have retinol, unlike other products, this does not break me out nor does it sting my eyes and face. I think the gentleness of the mask and the ability to really create a certain level of suppleness around my eyes, is why I think this is a good product to use, if you're so inclined.

If, however, you are not in the mood to splurge, a good eye cream is a better route; at least, for me. I would rather spend my money on an eye cream than an eye mask. But, if someone gave this to me as a gift, I wouldn't be sad about it. =)

xo Jane

Sunday, December 4, 2016

Life in LA: Uber Drivers

I tend to use taxi drivers to get to the airport. Recently, I find myself using Uber in lieu of taxis, as it is easier to hail a Uber in LA rather than a taxi, unless you're at the airport. I use UberX, not Uber Pool, as I prefer to ride straight to the airport rather than wait for them to pick a few people en route.

Is it just me or are the Uber drivers a bit ... off? All I want to do is get to the airport. I don't want a lecture on how "Americans are selfish and American sports suck," (I mentioned I liked baseball) and/or "the environment is caused by greedy corporations and/or how people shouldn't need other people.  I don't mind small talk and I don't mind a discussion but a discussion should be two-sided, not shouting down at me. All I can do is sit in silence and pray I get to the airport as soon as possible.  Please tell me I'm not the only one who experienced this. The fellow at the airport counter did mention he also had a few odd Uber drivers, as well, which gave me some comfort.

And, no, I'm not going to text you my number because I don't know you and. honestly, you scare me. 

xo Jane.